Adventures in Baking

I haven’t baked a cake since school, which was quite some time ago I can tell you. I love cooking but I’m not really a recipe follower, I prefer to chuck things in a pan and see what happens. But when we moved I got given a Kenwood mixer as a house warming present, so this weekend I thought I’d better stop being scared of it and give it a go.

And you know, it really wasn’t too bad.

Raspberry Bakewell Cake (from BBC Good Food)

Ingredients: 140g ground almonds, 140g softened butter, 140g golden caster sugar, 140g self-raising flour, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 250g raspberries, 2 tbsp flaked almonds

Step 1: Put the oven on (180c/160c fan/gas 4), grease sides and line the base of a 20cm loose-bottomed cake tin.

Step2: Because I was a bit nervous of the whole recipe thing I measured all the ingredients out and lined them up in bowls beforehand, so all I had to do was tip the ground almonds, butter, flour, sugar, eggs and vanilla into the mixer bowl. With the K beater attachment I combined them all together.

Step 3: Spread half the cake mix over the bottom of the cake tin and smooth over the top. This was a bit tricky as the mixture is very sticky, so I ended up using my fingers.

Step 4: Scatter the raspberries over the cake mix, then dollop the remaining cake mix on top and smooth over (again I used my fingers – cake mix really does taste as good as it did when I was a child!). Top with the flaked almonds.

Step 5: Bake for 50 minutes until golden. Cool, remove from the tin and dust with icing sugar to serve (um, yeah, I forgot the icing sugar, but it didn’t matter).

Step 6: Tuck in!

Points to note: I was worried that the mixture was too dry, and as I’ve mentioned it was a bit difficult to distribute evenly in the tin. Before the oven worked its magic

But it evened out in the oven and the finished result was lovely and moist. The raspberries I used were maybe slightly past their best, so they disintegrated and the cake had more of a raspberry ‘layer’ than expected. Plus there’s a very faint metallic tang to the raspberries, I can’t figure out why (and it didn’t spoil my enjoyment!).

I’ll definitely make this again, it was really easy and made the house smell beautiful. I think it would work really well with apples instead of the raspberries, or rhubarb (very autumnal!).

Now, I’m off to have a slice with a cup of tea whilst watching Calamity Jane. What Sunday afternoons are for!

The finished cake

The finished cake

A slice for me

A slice for me

One thought on “Adventures in Baking

Leave a Reply

