A few words on why I started this blogging lark

I’m not a writer. For about the last 5 years, I have been reading other people’s blogs. Those that are favourites you can see in my sidebar.  For a long time reading was all I did – I thought if I didn’t have a blog of my own how could I comment on someone else’s? And I could never think of something witty! or intelligent! to say. So I just lurked.

 I read about people in other countries with completely different lives to mine. People who are writers, mothers, fathers, photographers, fashionistas, internet SUPERSTARS. I work in an office and watch a lot of TV – who’s going to be interested in what I have to say?

 Slowly, tentatively, I started to comment occasionally. I even set up my own blog on Blogger about 18 months ago, but a lack of confidence in my own voice (and, ok, laziness) meant that it fell by the wayside. But then earlier this year we bought a house, I signed up to Twitter and something just clicked into place. I thought a blog would be a great way to document the things we do to the house (living room curtains post coming soon, you lucky people), and tweeting has made me more confident in writing something and putting it ‘out there’. I’ve become a bit addicted to Twitter…..With the blog, I’m trying to post as often as possible to keep the momentum going, but it can be hard when I’m at work all day and weekends get tied up with other life stuff. But I’m determined to persevere!

2 thoughts on “A few words on why I started this blogging lark

  1. Keep it up Anema. You have at least one devoted fan – and I suspect a few more… I miss you now you’ve left ealingsville – this helps to soothe the mikema shaped chasm in my daily life

Leave a Reply

