Feelgood Films

By no means a comprehensive list……

The Wizard of Oz

A favourite since childhood, I will never tire of this classic movie. I still get a thrill when Dorothy steps out of the sepia farmhouse into the technicolour Munchkinland. The songs are wonderful  – can you imagine that they very nearly cut Somewhere Over the Rainbow out? It’s just a joy from start to finish. And I would love to have a framed copy of this poster.

This is Spinal Tap

Always guaranteed to render me helpless through laughter. Even thinking about the Stonehenge scene is making me giggle right now.

Big

A perfect Sunday afternoon film, with a great performance from Tom Hanks. The scene pictured above (in F.A.O. Schwartz, such an amazing toy shop) always lifts my spirits.

Grease

Who doesn’t love Grease? One of the films that I don’t have to be ‘in the right mood’ for – I could watch it at any time (although I will never watch it on ITV again – last time they showed it they cut a whole scene out! Morons). I first saw it a youth club film night when I was about 8 – my Dad remembers waiting to pick me up and hearing the whole of us happily singing along to “You’re the One that I Want”. I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve seen it since. Be warned though, the stage version is utter pants.

Sleepless in Seattle

I always, always, always cry at the end when Annie meets Sam and Jonah at the top of the Empire State building. Sniff.

School of Rock

If you took a photo of me watching this film (especially during the Battle of the Bands scene) you would have a picture of a huge cheesy grin. The perfect vehicle for Jack Black, the kids are also great (and thankfully not annoying).

And finally, because I am a big girl,

Dirty Dancing

Great dancing, wonderful soundtrack, sexy, source of many cheesy quotes. RIP Patrick Swayze. And why did Jennifer Grey have her nose ‘fixed’?

Leave a Reply

