I just don’t get it…

Why do people like horror films? I will never understand how being scared witless can be remotely enjoyable. I can cope with thrillers and spooky tv shows like Buffy, but horror? I’m a wuss. My first experience of a horror film came when I was 12 when I went to see a friend, and she and her sister were halfway through watching Poltergeist. I remember afterwards having nightmares and being scared to go to sleep. Then, about 2 weeks later, the big storm of ’87 hit. I looked out of my bedroom window during the night and there were tree branches and leaves flying about everywhere, and the sky was a funny blue from all the lightning. At that moment it looked very like one of the final scenes in Poltergeist – I was completely terrified and spent the rest of the night on the floor in my parents room!

Since then I have largely managed to avoid watching scary movies. I have seen a couple, like Scream and the Blair Witch Project, but there is absolutely no way on earth I would ever subject myself to something like Saw. Mike loves horror films (have a look at his page here, World of Mike, for a rant about one he really didn’t like), and we’ve talked about why a few times. I can appreciate that classic horrors do invest in character and that there is great skill involved in evoking fear. I do get that being scared can cause an adrenaline rush (despite being safe in the cinema or on the sofa), but I’d rather get my kicks from buying a great pair of shoes, or singing along to Bugsy Malone. So I guess I’m happy to keep on being a wuss!

4 thoughts on “I just don’t get it…

  1. Honestly, I could have written this post. I feel EXACTLY the same. I watched quite a few horror films in my early teens (friend’s parents had a video shop and had banned horror films like I Spit on Your Grave and The Exorcist, which was banned at the time). I absolutely don’t get it. Hush was as scary as it gets for me.

Leave a Reply

