Item 6

OK, so I didn’t actually make any ‘resolutions’ this year, but I did talk about a few life changes in an earlier post, and now seems like the time to try and start working on item 6 on that list: Eat Less, Exercise More.

This is not going to turn into a diet blog, but I will try and log my progess here in the hope that it motivates me (I am LAZY). So, my goals for this week are:

  1. Drink more water. I actually really like drinking water, but I’ve noticed that I’ve really not been drinking enough of it at work – the water fountain is on the 3rd floor and I’m in the basement. Did I mention the LAZY? I’m going to try and drink at least 1 litre per day (and take the stairs to refill the bottle, not the lift).
  2. Weigh myself. Ugh. Just…ugh. The scales are currently under a ledge in the bathroom, covered in a thick layer of dust. Am scared. But I know that I make more progress when I know what I’m dealing with – this time 2 years ago I was slowly but surely losing weight and a big motivation was my weekly weigh-in.
  3. Start exercising again. Before we moved I was in a good routine, using the exercise bike at least 3 times a week, plus hula-hooping (brilliant fun). But then we moved and….well, LAZY. I’m not going to type the lame excuses I’ve given myself for why I stopped exercising, because they are just excuses. So, if the weather allows I will walk more – I can walk from Victoria to work, which takes about 50 minutes, and I’ll walk up the escalators at the tube. I’ll move the exercise bike from the FREEZING lean-to and get pedalling.

I’m going to leave it at 3 points, so it’s achievable – I’ll add other goals in along the way. Onwards and upwards!

*Edited to add: I’ve renamed the old Lovely Finds page to Item 6, so I can record my progress there (Lovely Finds will now go on the main page).

Cartoon: Calvin and Hobbes by the GENIUS Watterson.

Leave a Reply

