Holiday Reading

Oh, my poor, neglected blog! I can’t believe it’s been nearly a month since my last post, and here I am with a quick ‘this is what I’m going to read on my hols’ post before I go away again and leave you until August. Bad blogger! *slaps own wrist*

So. This is a picture (no, not a very good one, I know) of the books I’m taking on holiday. We’re off to L’Escala on the Costa Brava, driving down to France to get there. Life’s been a tad….stressy lately, so I can’t wait. Here’s what I’ll be reading:

Reading in Bed by Sue Gee: I’ve already started this one, it’s about two friends, Georgia and Dido (I can’t help picturing the singer, which is slightly distracting, seeing as the character is in her sixties) and their families. I’m only 95 pages in, but so far so good – the writing is warm  and elegant, with likeable characters.

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger: I adored The Time Traveller’s Wife, so I’m really looking forward to reading this one. I’ve sort-of-on-purposely (oh hello, clumsy English!) not read much about it so I’ll be interested to find out if it’s as good as I hope it is.

Drop Shot by Harlen Coben a thriller here for a bit of variation. I’ve read a lot of the stand-alone Coben novels (he’s great at writing taught page turners), but so far have only read the first Myron Bolitar novel, Deal Breaker. This is the second in the series.

Waiting for Birdy by Catherine Newman  and The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot  : both recommended to me by Keris and I’m sure I’ll love them 🙂

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfield: again, not one I know a lot about (it was given to me by Mike’s mum), but it sounds really interesting.

The Truth About Melody Browne by Lisa Jewell: I’m a little behind with Jewell’s novels, only just getting round to this one. It is like saving up treats though – I’ve truly loved all of her previous books.

So, there’s my planned holiday reading. My mum’s also taking a big pile o’ books, so I’m sure I’ll sneak some extras in. My aim (!) is to make a few notes as I read so I can do ‘proper’ reviews when I get back….let’s see how THAT goes.

9 thoughts on “Holiday Reading

  1. Can thoroughly recommend Birdy and American Wife. Curious to hear what you think of Fearful Symmetry… Hope you have a lovely holiday (and lovely reading time) and remember no-one reads blogs in the summer anyway 😉

    ps: My family/old friends nickname is Dido. Perhaps shoudn’t admit to that…

  2. Birdy! American Wife! Princess Diaries! Fab.

    Will be interested to hear what you think of Fearful Symmetry – have heard mixed reports. Also Melody Browne – I think it’s very different from her other books.

    Have a brilliant time!

  3. You have lots of exciting books there! I too haven’t read “Fearful Symmetry” or that much about it so will also look forward to hearing what you thought. I have read The Truth About Melody Browne, I really enjoyed it so hope you do too.

Leave a Reply

