Juniper Sling

I wandered into Heals at lunchtime, seduced by the sale signs and the lure of a bargain. I am an idiot. They’re selling Penhaligon’s in there now, and I made the mistake of spraying a little Juniper Sling on my wrists. CALAMITY! I don’t think I’ve ever loved a fragrance so much – I’ve been sniffing my wrists all afternoon (attracting some odd looks from my colleagues, no doubt), whilst despairing at the fact that I can’t afford it (it’s £78 ouch ouch ouch).

Just look at that packaging! It’s so beautiful. The description on the website makes me laugh a bit, but it does give you the gist:

“Introducing Juniper Sling, an intoxicating new fragrance inspired by the most iconic and atmospheric of spirits: London Dry Gin. 
For enigmatic boys and girls, Juniper Sling is a crisp cocktail shot of gin with the freshness of juniper, cool measures of angelica and brandy and a beating libertine heart of black pepper, cardamom, soft leather and orris. A gourmand base of brown sugar, black cherry and amber add sensuality to the scent. Apply liberally and drink in.”

I can’t bear the taste of gin but I’ve always liked the smell – both Mike* and my dad love a G&T, so it’s familiar and comforting. Juniper Sling doesn’t smell exactly like a glass of Gordon’s – it’s spicier (I guess that’s the pepper and cardamom), and softer (the leather?).

It smells exactly right on me. DAMN.

*Do you think if I tell Mike there’s a perfume that smells of gin he’ll buy it for me? 😉

2 thoughts on “Juniper Sling

  1. Ooh, I’ve heard of Penhaligon’s but never smelled any! (One day…) But that packaging is GORGEOUS. Maybe Santa will bring you some? Early?

    Good to see you blogging again, too. 🙂

    • Thanks! Am going to try to keep it up…

      I love Penhaligon’s – my great uncle used to buy me the Bluebell bath oil when I was in my teens, which is heavenly. Their shops are beautiful. Am definitely putting Juniper Sling on my Christmas list!

Leave a Reply

